Training: Week Three

I’ve been in Houston for three weeks now. It’s crazy to think it has been that long, and yet it feels like it has been longer. Everyday I am here I am so incredibly grateful to have the opportunity to be working towards my wings. So many things had to line up to make it possible for me to be here, and I’ve worked so hard to make the most of it.

We just finished Evac Week, the high stress week of learning commands, evacuation and ditching procedures, and practicing putting everything together. It all culminates in the dreaded EEE Day (Emergency Evacuation Exam), a pass/fail drill in which you and your assigned crew-mates have to evacuate a mockup of an airplane. Thankfully I passed on the first try! But not everyone was so lucky. You are allowed a single retake. We ended up having to say goodbye to one of our classmates.

Evac week is intense and stressful, but by the end of it you feel so empowered. You come out of that evac drill knowing that if you ever end up in a situation where an evacuation is necessary, you won’t hesitate, you’ll step right up and do what needs to be done to get everyone out safe.

Now we are heading into airplane week, where we have to learn a plane (and all of its different series) a day, taking an exam on it the same day we go over it in class. It’s certainly a week in which you need to be prepared for class ahead of time. But by the end of this week, I will be certified to work every single plane my airline flies! That sounds daunting, but I am so excited to get better acquainted with all of these pretty metal birds.

I also received my crew luggage and uniforms yesterday. That was another thing that’s really driving home how close I am to graduation. I tried on our signature dress and couldn’t hep but smile, imagining myself strutting down the concourse, or serving a customer with my winning smile. They say if you imagine it, you’ll make it happen. I hope that proves true!

There are still a lot of hurdles I have to jump over until I can call myself a flight attendant, but the finish line is coming into sight, and I couldn’t be more excited!

Leave a Reply

